The Forgotten Art of Listening

a girl with A Sword

by Ed Brodow

I was having lunch at a bistro in St. Paul de Vence, a picturesque hill town in the south of France. In my fractured French, I tried to order a bottle of beer.

“Je voudrais une bouteille de biere, sil vous plait.” I would like a bottle of beer, I told the waitress.

“In a can,” she replied. “Non,” said I, “En bouteille!” In a bottle. With her hands on her hips and a sneer on her face, she repeated, “In a can!”

Now I was really getting mad. “Not in a can,” I insisted. “In a bottle. En bouteille. EN BOUTEILLE!”

She threw her hands up in despair. “Monsieur, IN A CAN!”

“All right,” I said. “Have it your way. Give it to me in a can. Anything. Just give me a beer!”

She stormed off and returned with a bottle of Heineken. Heineken, when you…

View original post 1,000 more words

2 responses to “The Forgotten Art of Listening

  1. You have my permission to reprint my article “The Forgotten Art of Listening” provided you include (a) my short bio; (b) my copyright notice; and (c) a link to my website. Thank you for complying.
    Ed Brodow
    Note: the “original” is at http://www.brodow.com

Leave a Reply

