REFLECT BACK…SO YOU CAN MOVE FORWARD

Chops Beyond The Practice Room

Image

I spent all day yesterday training new Teaching Artists for Lincoln Center’s quickly expanding Education department.  I am so thankful to have been using this particular method of pedagogy for the past 15 years, because if I had not been employing these strategies on a regular basis, I would not be performing and composing as much as I am right now.

For example:

So much of my conservatory education was built around lessons, coachings, and orchestra rehearsals where I was being told what to do.   Very seldom was I ever asked to reflect on what I just did, or what inspired me, how my skills should improve, what steps I should take, and what I really needed to meet my artistic needs.

I was just told.

Some things were great nuggets of wisdom delivered with tact and encouragement.

Some things were the polar opposite of nurturing.

Since graduating, I have…

View original post 604 more words

Leave a Reply

